List of products by brand Chateau Ksara

Weingut Chateau Ksara aus dem Libanon

1857 the Jesuit mission inherited 25 hectare of land in the north of the Bekaa Valley, situated between Tanaïl and Zahlé. Father Kirn recognized the great potential for viticulture and motovated the monks to plant vines. They named the monastery after the ancient fortress "Ksara" from the Crusaders. At first, they produced sweet Mess wines from Algerian Cinsault vines. The expansion of the estate took place in 1863, when the Turks murderd two Jesuit priests. The Ottoman governor then offered to make amends by giving them more land for more vines. And since 1887 Ksara has been an independent part of the nearby Tabauk monastery.
Winery Chateau Ksara from Lebanon
The wine cellar of Ksara is sensational and always was one of lebaons major attractions for touriests. The origins of their cellar go back to a natural grotto, which was built and used by the Romans. Only in 1906 the cave was rediscovered my an incident where some hunting dogs followed a fox into a ground. Over a hundred workers than extended the celler vault during the First World War into a 2 km long tunnel system over a period of four years. Even today, this sevenths largest wine celler of the world stored a couple thousand bottles of the old Ksara vintages dating back to 1918 at ideal temperatures between 11 and 13°C. The first white wine was produced in 1902. The monks began to import new varieties after the end of the First World War, including Ugni Blanc, Carignan and Muscat. And after the Second World War, Chateau Ksara was already producing 1.5 million bottles annually.
Wine cellar from Chateau Ksara
Winery Chateau Ksara from Lebanon
The winery was privatized in 1973 following the instructions of the Vatican. The buyer was a consortium of Lebanese businessmen led by Jean-Pierre Sara. They purchased the winery for 10 million Lebanese pounds and immediately engaged the French oenologist Noel Rabot. Noel, however, had leave the country in 1975 because the Lebanese civil.  During this time Elie Maamari export manager, took over responsibility for the production and quality of the wine.
The departure of Jean-Pierre and Albert Sara in 1990 resulted in a new Board of Directors with the Chairman Zafer Chaoui. In 1990, Charles Ghostne, a lawyer and former politician, joined the company as managing director as well. James Palgé, who had previously worked at Château Prieuré-Lichine in Margaux, was appointed cellar master in 1993. Furthermore, Charles Ghostne immediately introduced the noble grape varieties Cabernet Sauvigon, Syrah, Merlot and Chardonnay. Also, the Petit Verdot and Cabernet Franc varieties were added. Other new varieties were planted on the best sites of the Bekaa valley. In addition, the winery decided to modernise its touristik areas and museumfor more than US$ 6.5 million. The cellar was upgraded and contains a lot of shiny Inox tanks and of course new Demptos barriques. And now the approximately 40,000 visitors per year have the opportunity to be guided through the extraordinary wine cellar. And at last but not least an elaborate sound and light show turns the visit into an unique experience. Cheese and snacks will be served during the wine tasting, since Ksara does not own its own restaurant such as Chasteau Kefraya and Massaya.
The top wine of the estate is the Château, consisting of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot from old vines. They have started to produce some single grape verities such as Cabernet Sauvignon and Chardonnay. Reserve du Couvent is Ksara most popular and sold wine with the production of 500,000 bottles every year ( 60% of which are exported). This wine, which is particularly popular in the gastronomy sector. This cuvée recieved several gold medals at the wine fair of the French Oenology Association. In 2007 Château Ksara celebrated its 150th anniversary using the opportunity to presented the new top cuvée Le Souverain.
Ksara leases vineyards additionally to their own 67 hectares and has a total of 300 hectares. The vineyards are not artificially irrigated. The yield is almost 2000 tons, counting up to 7 tons of grapes per hectare. From these 40-45 hl/ha are won. The production volume was 2.0 million bottles in 2004, 2.5 million in 2010 and 3.0 million in 2012. Meanwhile, 43% of the production volume is exported. Europe is the largest foreign market - 38% go to France alone. However, Great Britain and Germany are also important customers. The share of red wines is 65%, white wines account for 20% and rosé wines still account for 15% of production.
Winery Chateau Ksara from Lebanon

Blanc de Blancs 2017 of Chateau Ksara from the Lebanon

Blanc de Blancs 2017

€9.90

(13,20 € pro Liter)

Tax included shipping excluded

An ideal summer wine with a golden glittering robe. Fruity, harmonious and spicy with a bouquet of mangos, pineapple and citrus in the nose. Fruity and herbal on the palate with a well-balanced hint of wood and herbs.

Chateau 2008 of Chateau Ksara from the Lebanon

Chateau 2008

€26.90

(35,87 € pro Liter)

Tax included shipping excluded

Ruby red colour. This charming wine has an woody scent of plums, haws and dried fruits with hints of soil and tabacco in the nose. Round, herbal and well-balanced on the palate with spicy aromas of plums, currants and cedars wood.

Cuvee du III Millenaire 2008 of Chateau Ksara from the Lebanon

Cuvee du III Millenaire 2008

€44.50

(59,33 € pro Liter)

Tax included shipping excluded

A powerful purple red colour. Ripe fruits in the nose with woody hints of vanilla. A unique and spicy taste on the palate consisting of a well-balanced assis and licorice aroma.

Reserve du Couvent 2013 of Chateau Ksara from the Lebanon

Reserve du Couvent 2013

€9.90

(13,20 € pro Liter)

Tax included shipping excluded

This well-balanced wine with a ruby-red colour reveals finesse and elegance with its intensive woody mint and vanilla aroma in the nose. Supple, pure and round tannins on the palate, which turn into an long-enduring, full-bodied finish.

Sunset 2017 of Chateau Ksara from the Lebanon

Sunset 2017

€8.90

(11,87 € pro Liter)

Tax included shipping excluded

A powerful and robust rosè wine with an salmon pink colour. Fruity with hints of ripe strawberries in the nose and round with a spicy and fresh aroma of red berries in the mouth. The finish has a long and vivid taste.

Artikelliste nach Marke Chateau Ksara

Weingut Chateau Ksara aus dem Libanon

Im Norden der Bekaa-Ebene, zwischen Tanaïl und Zahlé, erbte 1857 die jesuitische Mission ein 25 Hektar großes Stück Land. Auf Betreiben von Pater Kirn, der das große Potenzial für den Weinbau erkannte, begannen die Mönche, Reben anzupflanzen. Sie nannten das Klostergut „Ksara“ nach einer ehemaligen, nahe gelegenen Festung aus der Zeit der Kreuzritter. Zunächst wurden aus algerischen Cinsault-Reben süße Messweine hergestellt. Die beträchtliche Ausweitung des Grundbesitzes erfolgte im Jahr 1863, als zwei Jesuitenpater von Türken ermordet wurden und der osmanische Gouverneur daraufhin zur Wiedergutmachung anbot, mit einem Pferd ein Gebiet zu umreiten, das dann dem Weingut zufiel. Seit 1887 ist Ksara unabhängiger Teil des nahen Tabauk-Klosters.
Weingut Chateau Ksara aus dem Libanon
Sensationell ist der Weinkeller von Ksara – seit Jahrzehnten einer der Besucher- und Touristen-Magnete des Libanon. Die Ursprünge des Weinkellers gehen auf eine natürliche Grotte zurück, die bereits von den Römern genutzt wurde. Nach der Wiederentdeckung im Jahr 1906, als einige Jagdhunde einen Fuchs bis in eine Höhle verfolgten, bauten im ersten Weltkrieg hundert Arbeiter in vier Jahren das Kellergewölbe zu einem 2 km langen Tunnelsystem aus. Noch heute lagern in diesem siebtgrößtem Weinkeller der Welt bei idealen Temperaturen zwischen 11 und 13°C ein paar tausend Flaschen alter Ksara-Jahrgänge, die bis in das Jahr 1918 zurückreichen. Den ersten Weißwein gab es 1902. Nach Beendigung des Ersten Weltkriegs begannen die Mönche mit dem Import neuer Sorten, darunter Ugni Blanc, Carignan und Muscat. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurden bereits 1,5 Mio. Flaschen jährlich abgefüllt.
Weinkeller von Chateau Ksara
Chateau Ksara aus dem Libanon
1973 wurde das Weingut nach einer Entscheidung des Vatikans privatisiert. Käufer war ein Konsortium libanesischer Geschäftsleute unter der Führung von Jean-Pierre Sara, der Kaufpreis betrug 10 Mio. libanesische Pfund. Jean-Pierre Sara engagierte sofort den französischen Önologen Noel Rabot, der jedoch bei Ausbruch des libanesischen Bürgerkriegs 1975 das Land verließ. Der heutige Exportmanager Elie Maamari übernahm seinerzeit die Verantwortung für den Wein.
Nach dem Ausscheiden von Jean-Pierre und Albert Sara wurde 1990 ein neuer Vorstand mit dem Vorsitzenden Zafer Chaoui gebildet. Mit dem Einstieg des Geschäftsführers Charles Ghostne 1990, einem Juristen und ehemaligen Politiker, und der Verpflichtung des Kellermeisters James Palgé im Jahr 1993, der zuvor beim Château Prieuré-Lichine in Margaux tätig war, ging es, beginnend mit dem Jahrgang 1996, steil aufwärts. Charles Ghostne führte sogleich die edlen Rebsorten Cabernet Sauvigon, Syrah, Merlot und Chardonnay ein, mit der Ankunft von James Palgé kamen auch noch die Sorten Petit Verdot und Cabernet Franc hinzu – man pflanzte die neuen Sorten auf den besten Lagen des Bekaa-Tals. Die Kellerei und der Empfangsbereich für Besucher wurden seit 1991 für 6,5 Mio. US$ komplett modernisiert. Im Keller steht eine Unmenge glänzender Inox-Tanks und natürlich neue Demptos-Barriques. Die jährlich rund 40.000 Besucher haben die Möglichkeit, durch den außergewöhnlichen Weinkeller geführt zu werden. Eine aufwendige Sound-und-Light-Show lässt den Besuch zum Erlebnis werden. Ein preisgekrönter Film über das Weingut rundet das Besuchsprogramm ab. Zur Weinprobe werden Käse und Snacks gereicht. Ein eigenes Restaurant wie bei Kefraya und Massaya gibt es jedoch nicht.
Spitzenwein des Gutes ist der rote Château Ksara, bestehend aus Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot und Petit Verdot von alten Rebstöcken. Seit ein paar Jahren werden auch sortenreiner Cabernet Sauvignon und Chardonnay erzeugt. Ein Standbein von Château Ksara ist jedoch der beliebte Rotwein Reserve du Couvent, von dem jährlich über 500.000 Flaschen abgefüllt werden, wovon 60% in den Export gehen. Der in der Gastronomie besonders beliebte Wein, angesiedelt im mittleren Preissegment, bietet eine ausgezeichnete Qualität. Auf der Weinmesse des französischen Önologen-Verbands wurde diese Cuvée mehrfach mit einer Goldmedaille ausgezeichnet. Aber auch die anderen Weine aus dem Sortiment erzielen bei namhaften internationalen Wettbewerben regelmäßig hohe Auszeichnungen: In der Saison 2003/04 erhielten z.B. 99% der eingereichten Weine Medaillen oder Prämierungen. Im Jahr 2007 feierte Château Ksara 150-jähriges Bestehen und stellte zu diesem Anlass die neue Top-Cuvée Le Souverain vor.
Neben den eigenen Lagen mit 67 Hektar sind weitere Rebflächen durch langfristige Pachtverträge gesichert – insgesamt verfügt Ksara über 300 Hektar. Die Weinberge werden nicht künstlich bewässert. Der Ertrag liegt bei fast 2000 Tonnen, das sind knapp 7 Tonnen Trauben pro Hektar. Aus diesen werden 40-45 hl/ha gewonnen. Die Produktionsmenge lag in 2004 bei 2,0 Mio., in 2010 bei 2,5 Mio. und in 2012 bei 3,0 Mio Flaschen. Inzwischen werden 43% der Produktionsmenge exportiert. Europa ist der größte Auslandsmarkt – allein nach Frankreich gehen 38%. Jedoch sind auch Großbritannien und Deutschland sind wichtige Abnehmer. Der Anteil der Rotweine liegt bei 65%, Weißweine machen 20% und Roséweine immerhin noch 15% der Produktion aus.
Weinfelder von Chateau Ksara

Chateau Ksara  Blanc de Blancs 2017 bei Weinstore24 - Ihr Spezialist für libanesische und exotische Weine
  • Sale!

Blanc de Blancs 2018

9,90 €

(13,20 € pro Liter)

Leuchtende Gelbfarbe. In der Nase fruchtig, würzig und intensiv mit einem harmonierendem Bouquet von Mango, Ananas und Zitrusfrüchten. Am Gaumen trocken und fruchtbetont mit einer ausgeglichenen Kräuter- und Holznote.

Chateau Ksara  Chateau Ksara 2008 bei Weinstore24 - Ihr Spezialist für libanesische und exotische Weine

Chateau Ksara 2008

35,00 €

(46,67 € pro Liter)

Tiefe rubinrote Farbe. In der Nase ein holziger Duft nach Pflaumen, Hagebutten und getrockneten Früchten mit einem Hauch von Tabak und Erde. Vollmundig am Gaumen mit würzigem Aroma von Pflaumen, Johannisbeeren und Zedernholz. 

Chateau Ksara  Cuvee du III Millenaire 2008 bei Weinstore24 - Ihr Spezialist für libanesische und exotische Weine

Cuvee du III Millenaire 2008

44,50 €

(59,33 € pro Liter)

Kräftige purpurote Farbe. Ein Duft von reifen Früchten mit einer beeindruckenden Holz- und Venillenote. Am Gaumen ein explosiver und würziger Geschmack nach schwarzern Johannesbeeren mit einer Nuance von Süßholz.

Chateau Ksara  Reserve du Couvent 2016 bei Weinstore24 - Ihr Spezialist für libanesische und exotische Weine
  • Sale!

Reserve du Couvent 2017

9,90 €

(13,20 € pro Liter)

Dunkle rubinroten Farbe. Duftend und fruchtig in der Nase mit Aromen von reifen roten Beerenfrüchten, Lorbeer, Minze und Vanille. Am Gaumen geschmeidig, würzig und gut-ausbalancierter mit weicher Tannine, guter Länge und Ausdauer. 

Chateau Ksara  Sunset 2017 bei Weinstore24 - Ihr Spezialist für libanesische und exotische Weine

Sunset 2017

8,90 €

(11,87 € pro Liter)

Fruchtig und frisch. Dieser Wein besticht mit seinem Duft nach reifen Erdbeeren und überrascht den Gaumen mit seiner würzigen roten Beerennote und einem langen lebhaften Abgang.